How to delete and disable your Google location history

I had location history enabled for Google Maps and didn’t know it. I found it interesting to see which spots Google logged for me over the past week or month, and I don’t plan on disabling the service. It’s nice to know, however, that I can delete portions of my location history or all of it, as well as disable the feature from tracking me in the future.

(Credit: Screenshot by Matt Elliott/CNET)

To see if you have location history enabled, head to the Google Maps Location history page. Click the gear-icon button to access History settings. Here, you can choose to disable or enable the service.

Disabling location history, however, does not remove your past history. If you’d like to erase the locations Google has stored for the past 30 days, head back to the Location history page. The default time period shows location history for the current day, so you may not see any plots on the map.

Use the pull-down menu below the calendar on the left to show your history, up to 30 days. If you choose a time period in which Google has tracked your location, you’ll see the points where you’ve been on the map. And below the calendar, you’ll see options to delete your history from the time period you have chosen or to delete all history.

(Credit: Screenshot by Matt Elliott/CNET)

You can also delete a specific location fr… [Read more]

    




CNET

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in CNET on Dec 16th, 2013 by In The News Team   

Comments are closed.

 
free web counter